I’ll be honest. Before this year, David Bowie wasn’t really on my radar. I loved the hits and some of his albums like Ziggy Stardust, but he wasn’t someone I really looked at as a currently-active artist. The only song I knew past “Let’s Dance” was “I’m Afraid of Americans,” due to its association with Trent Reznor. But when Bowie announced The Next Day, I was really excited at the opportunity to appreciate a new release from him. I liked “Where Are We Now?” and loved “The Stars Are Out Tonight.” I couldn’t wait to see what the rest of the album was like.

Bowie did not disappoint. I love every single song on this album. The title track’s foreboding atmosphere, building to a triumphant chorus that I never get sick of. Every guitar riff feels like a classic as soon as you hear it, like on “Boss of Me,” “(You Will) Set the World on Fire” and “Valentine’s Day.” I love the stories he creates on so many of the tracks too, such as the teenage soldier on “I’d Rather Be High,” another favorite of mine. I also enjoy how the album is reflective on his own past, but rarely obvious in its throwbacks. It reminds me most of another dark Bowie masterpiece, Scary Monsters and Super Creeps, which is my favorite of his albums. This album far exceeded all of my expectations and showed that Bowie putting out his strongest work in three decades. For those reasons, it’s my album of the year.

Best Moments: All of the title track, the drunk horns in “Dirty Boys,” the lyrics in “I’d Rather Be High,” the opening female vocal on “If You Can See Me,” the mix of synths and guitars of “Love Is Lost” and of course, the “Five Years” tease.